Getting Around

This article was originally in the PubAssist Version 4 Help.  It has been updated here to reflect changes for Version 5.

When you are entering data into most screens, the information that appears on the screen is roughly equivalent to the data that is stored in each record in a table.  For example, the fields that appear in the Customer Order screen present what has been stored or is about to be stored in a particular customer order record.

You can move from field to field in the screen by hitting either ENTER or TAB. 

Navigation Buttons

The following command button options appear at the bottom of most data entry screens:

Save & Exit - This option saves the displayed record and exits the screen. 

Delete - This options causes the currently displayed record and any related records to be marked for deletion.  Once the record is marked for deletion, this option shows the "Recall" icon.

Recall - This options removes the deletion mark on the currently displayed record and any related records.  If the record is NOT marked for deletion, this options is labeled with "Delete".

Cancel or Escape - This option will exit the screen without saving changes made to the fields on the screen.  Note that there are events that may take place that will force the record to be saved before exiting the screen.  Escape simply exits without saving any changes since the last save.  If entering a new record, the record will not be saved, and all related records in the database will be deleted as well.

New - This option will save the currently displayed record, and blank the fields in preparation for adding a new record.


Copy Record - Copies the current record to a new record.  This is useful, for example, to copy an address for a new contact that works for the same company.

Help - Calls up the online help screen.

Save Defaults - This option will save current screen entries as default values.  The default values will be presented (as defaults) when you enter a new record on this screen.

Move to First Record - Moves to the first record in the table or the filtered set.

Move to Previous Record - Moves to the previous record in the table or filtered set.

Move to Next Record - Moves to the next record in the table or the filtered set.

Move to Last Record - Moves to the last record in the table or the filtered set.

Target Record (Clear Filter) - If a filter is in place, this option will remove it, but target the record in the table.

Print - Calls the report writer with the default report for the current screen.  For example, when viewing a customer order, the Print option will automatically present the invoice for the currently viewed order.

Save & Reprocess - This option performs the same processing as Save & Exit, but doesn't leave the screen.  It's useful for observing the results of the save process.  For example, when viewing a customer order, performing the Save option will cause the order to be saved--which will also attempt to ship the order.  If successful, the order status will be set to "Shipped".  If there are items that can't be shipped, then the order status will be set to "Backorder".



There are several short-cuts to executing the above command button options:

In addition, there are a number of other "control functions" (activated by pressing CTRL+character) which will activate menu options directly.  These control functions appear in the  menu next to the options which they will activate.  For example...

Other shortcuts work throughout the application

Warning!  Foxpro does not like abnormal shut downs.  This will sometimes corrupt or damage your database or index files.  If you seem to get stuck in Publishers' Assistant, rebooting should be an absolute last resort.   Try exiting using ALT+F4 key first.  If you need to perform an End Task or reboot, be sure to reindex and pack files when you get back into Publishers' Assistant.